Am Buachaille Dubh – the Black-Haired Shepherd Boy

Am Buachaille Dubh – the Black-Haired Shepherd Boy.

When I practice, most of my concentration is on slowing down – relaxing and avoiding rushing. However, I’m struggling to keep up with the vocalists on this one!

Here’s Wilma Kennedy’s excellent performance of the song as the conclusion of a set: https://www.tobarandualchais.co.uk/track/92767?l=en.

And here’s an ensemble performance featuring Mary Ann Kennedy and James Graham singing, with Allan MacDonald on the smallpipes. Our song is at the end.

Here’s my transcription of the tune. I’ve written out the repeated eigth notes on the low A’s, but pipers will find it very natural to substitute a birl for variety.

The Lyrics

The song is also known as Am Buachaille dubh Fionnghal or Am Buachaille dubh Fionnghala. The plot is simple but energetic: Fiona’s black-haired shepherd boy is on the tail of the back ram. That’s the whole song!

Lyrics source.

Leave a comment